This is the Story of a Girl*

Thanks to Pop Culture Nerd, My Life as a Book is back! It’s a fun meme in which players complete sentences about themselves with titles of books. I had a lot of fun being a part of last year’s meme, and now that the 2011 edition is out, I’ve decided to jump in again :-). So here goes!

 

One time at band/summer camp, I: Buried Strangers (Leighton Gage)

 

Weekends at my house are: Total Chaos (Jean-Claude Izzo)

 

My neighbour is: Thirteen Steps Down (Ruth Rendell)

 

My boss is: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie)

 

My ex was: The Merry Misogynist (Colin Cotterill)

 

My superhero secret identity is: Nemesis (Agatha Christie)

 

You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry because: Vengeance is Mine! (Mickey Spillane)

 

I’d win a gold medal in: Triple Jeopardy (Rex Stout) – Certainly not in any athletic events – trust me!

 

I’d pay good money for:  The Moonstone (Wilkie Collins)

 

If I were president, I would: Pray for Silence (Linda Castillo)

 

When I don’t have good books, I:  Die a Little (Megan Abbott)

 

Loud talkers at the movies should be: More Work for the Undertaker (Margery Allingham)

 

 

How about you? Wanna play? All you need to do is complete the sentences in your own way, with your own title choices. Then, just post a comment at the meme site. Come on! Let’s have some fun :-)!

 

Ps  The ‘photos? Yes, those are of me; they are from a very long  time ago ;-).

 

 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Nine Days’ Absolutely (Story of a Girl).

33 Comments

Filed under Agatha Christie, Colin Cotterill, Jean-Claude Izzo, Leighton Gage, Linda Castillo, Margery Allingham, Megan Abbott, Mickey Spillane, Rex Stout, Ruth Rendell, Wilkie Collins

33 responses to “This is the Story of a Girl*

  1. Thanks for playing, Margot! Your answers are great! Your experience at summer camp is, uh, interesting. Heh. And what you’d do as president is profound.

  2. Pop Culture Nerd – I’m so glad you stopped by :-). Thanks for posting such a great set of questions! This really is a fun meme. Erm – and don’t ask about summer camp, please. I could tell you what really happened, but then… ;-).

  3. Criminally funny!
    Yes, of course I want to play – as soon as I have time for a breath of air.

    • Dorte – Oh, thank you :-). And I’m so glad you’re going to play, too. I know your answers will be clever and witty, and I’m eager to read them. I know all too well what it’s like at the beginning of the term, though, so yes, a breath of air is a good start!

  4. Great fun! I will post mine next week, and I have managed it with only books I have read this year. What sweet photos ;-)

    • Norman – Thank you (I say that with all certainty that I did not take those ‘photos ;-) ). I very much look forward to finding out how you will finish the sentences. I’m sure it’ll be funny and original.

  5. I might have a go a this – I think I did it last year but I can’t remember! I think Bernadette mentioned this at twitter and Friend Feed earlier, or was that another meme – eek?!

  6. Aww what a cutie you were Margot. I love your answers. I might have to have a think about this over the weekend and see what I can come up with :-)

    • Sarah – Oh, that’s so nice of you – Thanks :-). And I really do hope you’ll play along; I’ll be interested to see what your answers’ll be. I’m sure they’ll be great!

  7. Margot: It looks like fun. I do not think I can do it with just 2011 books read. Thanks for the idea and the link.

  8. I’m going to have a go – love your idea about loud talkers at the movies!

    • Margaret – I’m so glad you’re going to do this! I’m sure your answers will be terrific. And yes, I think someday I’ll make the victim in one of my novels be a person who talks very loudly at movies. No jury in the world will recommend a conviction!

  9. kathy d.

    The pressure mounts — to come up with good answers. Yours are sublime.
    Last year I did this at someone’s blog and answers were restricted to books one read in the prior year. So are there requirements on this one?
    Wow, I haven’t crammed for an exam for quite awhile. This will be fun! As soon as I can put some thought into this, I will respond.

  10. I’m not sure how I will do but this is too much fun not to try. Great idea – thanks!

  11. kathy d.

    I haven’t read books with titles that zing during this year so I may have to go backwards, but when a few moments is available, I’ll dive in.

  12. Remind me not to go camping with you.
    What beautiful photos of you. They are difficult to see but I’ll bet you were a wonderful child.
    I’m currently listening to The Man in the Brown Suit by audiobook. Loving it…again. Emilia Fox from one of my favorite TV series (Silent Witness–an autopsy show) is the reader. She’s so wonderful to listen to.

    • Clarissa – LOL (about the camping) ;-). One hundred years ago, when I was born, the quality of ‘photos wasn’t what it is now, so yeah, it is difficult to see sometimes when one tries to put them online.
       
      I’m glad you’re enjoying The Man in the Brown Suit. I’ve always thought it was a fine book. Perhaps not Christie’s very best work, but then, her “less-than-best” is heaps better than many people’s very best efforts.

  13. Patti Abbott

    great answers. If I was not cleaning for house guests I would love to play.

  14. Pingback: BooksPlease » Blog Archive » My Life as a Book: a Meme

  15. Interesting how everyone wants to kill those loud talkers at the movies :)

    • Bernadette – LOL! It is interesting, isn’t it? You’d think they’d learn…. Well, I have been known to write crime fiction. Maybe I’ve found the kind of person who’d serve very well as a victim in a novel ;-).

  16. Bev

    Love your answers! And that they almost all come from crime fiction.

    Here are mine: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-life-as-book-2011-so-far.html

  17. Pingback: My life as a book, 2011 style | Petrona

  18. Pingback: Funday: My Life as a Book | djskrimiblog

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

