With Wishes for Peace and Joy

Christmas 2012Hello, All,

I’d like to take some time to wish you all the very best for the holiday season. If you celebrate Christmas, may it be a peaceful and happy one. To all of you, no matter where you are or what you celebrate, I wish you health, happiness, peace and prosperity in all its forms.

Now, please get your beverage of choice, sit back and enjoy this ‘audio gift.’ What you are about to hear is the Westminster Cathedral Choir’s beautiful rendition of The Coventry Carol.
 

 

Happy Christmas all, and may the new year treat you well!

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “With Wishes for Peace and Joy

  1. Beautiful version of the carol Margot, best wishes of the season to you and your family too.

  2. Ms. Kinberg, a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family. I hope 2013 keeps us all healthy and happy and brings lots of books into our lives.

  3. kathy d.

    Happy holidays and hopes for a terrific new year with lots of blogging and great crime fiction. Even a few of those mind-bending quizzes would be fun.
    And best wishes for everyone’s health and peace on earth.

  4. Thanks Margot and Happy Christmas to you and all your readers. I love ‘Coventry Carol’. I sang Soprano 2 on it last year. Not easy. Have a relaxing Christmas yourself!

    • Sarah – Thanks for the good wishes. I’ve always loved The Coventry Carol myself. Such a wonderful, and enduring, carol. And I could well imagine that second soprano on that particular song is challenging. But I’ll bet you sounded fantastic!

  5. The same again to you, Margot, and to all the other mystery readers who comment here. Wishing all a happy and healthy new year.

  6. kathy d.

    Oh, well, I miss Christmas carols, I admit. I grew up in a bi-cultural household, singing carols and Chanukkah songs during the holidays. We’d all gather around the piano and sing with my mother who could play everything, with she and my sister contributing beautiful harmony. My mother would change words that she thought demeaning to women, even in very serious classics But we sang every year, every single carol we knew.
    That I miss.
    My sister still does this, I’m sure as she’s a musician and singer, with a piano.
    Me, I listen to the Temptations singing carols or to a friend’s Nat King Cole cd, but occasionally turn to the classics.

    • Kathy – There are some absolutely beautiful Christmas carols aren’t there? I like the modern ones and in fact there are a few modern ones that I really love. But some of the classics are really lovely I think. I didn’t know your sister was a musician. I’ll bet she’s talented.

  7. Wishing you a very lovely Christmas, Margot. Will be pouring my beverage shortly and listening to your clip. Raising a glass to you from across the pond.

  8. Peace and joy to you and yours, Margot and best wishes for a happy New Year!

  9. Happy Christmas Margot! Looking forward to another year of happy reading and sharing titles.

  10. That is a beautiful piece of music. Have a good Christmas and the rest of the holidays. I am looking forward to a few days off to relax.

    • Tracy – Thanks for the good wishes. It will be nice won’t it to have some time to slow down a bit and relax. I’m glad you enjoyed the music, too. I’ve always loved that carol quite a lot.

  11. That was beautiful, Margot. Thanks for the lovely gift of music. Merry Christmas to you and I wish you a wonderful new year.

  12. Margot: As part of a “new” Christmas tradition, my second year, I now pass on Christmas greetings through comments on blogs. They replace paper cards in my blogging world. How long will this Christmas tradition endure? I expect Christmas cards became a tradition when inexpensive postage stamps became available.

    • Bill – It is interesting isn’t it how the digital age has affected so much. People used to spend hours – days even – visiting others’ homes to give their greetings. Then as you say postage became affordable and cards replaced visits. Now it’s texts, ecards and bog visits and posts. What I like though is that it doesn’t matter: we still reach out to each other.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

