We’re Going to Be Friends*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne of the best things about 2012 was the chance it gave me to ‘meet’ several new-to-me authors and try their work. I always feel one grows as a reader when one tries the work of ‘new’ authors. That’s why I’m so pleased to be a part of the Best New-to-Me Crime Fiction Authors meme hosted by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise. Thanks as ever, Kerrie, for doing this.

My choice of the best new-to-me crime fiction author for the last quarter of 2012 is Sylvie Granotier. Granotier was born in Algeria but grew up in Paris and Morocco. Although she’s lived in many places, Granotier says she’s lived in Paris most of her life and never tires of it. After finishing her education, she became a stage and film actress and also did modeling.

Granotier turned to writing after meeting American author Grace Paley and has never looked back. A full-time author, she’s written fourteen novels as well as many short stories. She’s also written film scripts.

The book that ‘sold’ me on Granotier is The Paris Lawyer, which is the story of Catherine Monsigny. She’s a young attorney who gets the chance to litigate her first important case when Myriam Villetreix is arrested and imprisoned for the murder of her wealthy husband Gaston. She wants Monsigny to defend her and Monsigny begins to prepare the case. TheParisLawyer_cover_F-2

In the meantime, Monsigny is dealing with a very personal challenge. She is haunted by memories of the murder of her mother Violet. Catherine was present at the murder but she was only a toddler, so she can’t remember very much at all. But she wants to know the truth about what happened and lay that ghost to rest, as the saying goes. Her father loves her very much, but doesn’t want to discuss the murder. So she doesn’t get much help from him.

It turns out that the trial of Myriam Villetreix is to be held near Creuse, which is the same area where Violet Monsigny was killed. So at the same time as she is investigating Gaston Villetreix’s murder, Catherine begins to do her own investigation into what happened to her mother.

 

You can find out more about Sylvie Granotier at Le French Book.

 

You can find out more about The Paris Lawyer right here.

 

 

 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a the title of a White Stripes song.

13 Comments

Filed under Sylvie Granotier

13 responses to “We’re Going to Be Friends*

  1. You’ve inspired me to try her books thanks Margot. I’m sitting in rural Brittany on my winter break. Merci et Bon Week-end!

    • Sarah – Lucky you! I hope you’re having a wonderful time :-) I hope you’ll enjoy Granotier’s work. Not enough of it has been translated into English, but I hope that’ll change. Bon Week-end to you, too!

  2. Sounds like an interesting author and book. Thanks for alerting me to this author.

  3. Sounds great Margot, have added this to my ever-groaning wishlist

    • Bernadette – I hope you’ll like Granotier’s work. In my opinion there’s a really solid depiction of place and context and some interesting characters. And thanks for mentioning the increasing size of your wishlist. It makes me feel less guilty about not getting to my own quickly enough.

  4. What a gorgeous bloody cover, I haven’t heard of this one before.

  5. kathy d.

    It’s definitely going on my TBR list, and I will read this one this year one way or another.
    And, Sarah, rural Brittany? Really? Lucky you.

  6. Thanks so much Margot. I’ve probably told you before how happy I was to translate this book. I’m glad the word is getting out to readers.

    • Anne – Oh, the pleasure is definitely mine. I can see why you thought this translation was such a good experience; it’s a well-written and engaging novel. ANd your translation adds to the experience. And I’m happy to help spread the word.

  7. Pingback: Le French Book » Best crime fiction author discovery: Sylvie Granotier

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

