Introducing: Sam Hilliard

Hello, All,

First, thanks to all of you who took the time to give me some feedback for what you’d like to see on Confessions of a Mystery Novelist…. I appreciate it very much. I was especially happy that several of you were interested in a new feature that I’ve decided to call Introducing. In this monthly feature, I’ll be introducing you to crime fiction authors you may not have “met” and whose work you may not yet know. One of my goals with this feature is to give you a chance to sample some work that I hope you’ll enjoy. Another is to give some of my fellow authors a bit of well-deserved publicity. The publishing world doesn’t always make it easy for an author to get his or her name “out there,” so I’ve decided to do my bit to help ;-). So, welcome to the first edition of Introducing…

Today, I’d like to introduce you to Sam Hilliard. Like many authors, Sam lives a double life, managing to juggle a full-time “day job” (He’s the Network Administrator at a girls’ boarding school) with a writing career. Originally from Kansas City, Sam now makes his home in New Jersey.

Sam is the author of a crime fiction series featuring Mike Brody, a former Special Forces operative who now co-owns and runs S&B Outfitters, an extreme adventure tour company. In The Last Track, the first Mike Brody novel, Brody and his ex-wife, investigative journalist Jessica Barrett, are taking a holiday at Montana’s Pine Woods Dude Ranch. It’s a little awkward for them since they’ve split up. However, they arranged for the trip before their breakup and have decided to go through with it for the sake of their son Andy.

No sooner do they get settled in than Brody is drawn into an investigation. Fourteen-year-old Sean Jackson has run away from the dude ranch after witnessing the murder of David St. John. Sean is afraid that St. John’s killer will target him, too, and wants to get away. However, Sean’s run off into some very unforgiving country, so he’s in real danger not just from the killer, but from wild animals, the country itself and the elements. Detective Lisbeth McCarthy has found out that Brody’s in the area and asks him to track Sean and find him before the killer does.

With help (and some investigative research) from his ex-wife, Brody finds out that David St. John was involved with some very shady and ruthless people, and that his death is related to drug smuggling and corruption. Brody has to go up against a drugs-and-crime ring and the countryside if he’s going to bring Sean Jackson back safely.

The Last Track has a fast, thriller-like pace. It also features solid characters and a mystery with interesting twists. There’s an effective blend of the characters’ personal stories with the mystery at hand, and a strong sense of place, too.

The next Mike Brody novel is scheduled to be published towards the end of 2011 as I write this.

Want to know more about The Last Track? You can check it out at Amazon.

Want to know more about Sam? Here’s how:

Sam’s Web Page

Sam on Twitter

An Interview with Sam on Dina Fleet Berry’s technology/writing blog

In the coming months, I’ll be introducing you to other authors you might not know. I hope you’ll enjoy meeting them! In the meantime, I’m happy to get your feedback on this new feature. Feel free to comment here or, if you’d prefer, send me an email at margotkinberg(at)gmail(dot)com.

22 Comments

Filed under Sam Hilliard

22 responses to “Introducing: Sam Hilliard

  1. I’m going to love this new feature, Margot. Although I’m very fond of the mystery classics, I’m even more interested in newer authors. I’m always searching for a new series to follow. Sam’s characters sound like fictional folks I’d like to meet. Thanks!

    • Pat – Oh, I’m so glad you think this feature is a good idea :-)! I’m looking forward to it, too. And if it helps folks “meet” new fictional friends, and helps fellow authors reach an audience, so much the better.

  2. Patti Abbott

    Lovely idea, Margot. Thanks!

    • Patti – Oh, I’m so glad you like this :-)! If it means that some talented authors get a wider audience and book lovers get something good to savour, everyone wins.

  3. Well Margot, you’re 3/3 so far. I think it’s a terrific idea 🙂

  4. Excellent suggestion, Margot.

  5. Margot, love the new feature. What a great way to get to know new authors and their work. This one sounds like a fascinating read. Thanks for sharing.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress
    Freelance Editing By Mason

    • Mason – Thanks :-)! I’m so glad you like this feature. I agree that it is nice to “meet” authors and learn about their work. That’s one of the things I really like about your own wonderful blog. And I think talented authors need all the help they can get getting the word out about their writing.

  6. Thanks very much for the introduction and kind review! I’m proud to be part of this new addition to the site.

    Right now, the sequel to The Last Track will likely drop mid 2012. There’s a few reasons for that delay, but trust that almost all of them are my fault. 🙂

    • Sam – Thanks so much for visiting :-). It’s my great pleasure to feature you and your work. I look forward to the next novel in the Mike Brody series; folks, look for it mid-next year :-).

  7. Ok Margot, you have sold me! I probably would not have fallen had I not discovered C J Box’s Joe Pickett series earlier this year, and now caught up with the author, so I would not mind trying another book on the topic. The relationship dynamics sound interesting, this can definitely add to a novel that otherwise might be too much about plot. Next, I’ll check out UK availability 😉

    • Just checked it out on UK Amazon – the print version is rather expensive but there is a cheap Kindle version available (£2.14) so I have downloaded it. Thanks again for the tip! I thought I’d just mention this info here for any other UK (or UK Amazon-eligible) readers.

    • Maxine – I’m so glad you like the idea of this one. There is definitely that “outdoors” feel you get in a C.J. Box Joe PIckett novel, and the characters are interesting. Their dynamics work, too. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  8. Great idea for a feature, Margot. Since I’ve been following a few bloggers I’ve been introduced to many authors I never knew about before. Since newspapers, etc. stopped carrying book reviews, it’s hard to know about the book world unless you have sources you trust online and happily I do.

    • Barbara – I’m glad you like this new feature. You are so right that it’s quite hard these days to learn about what’s new in the book world. As you say, trustworthy online sources are one of the best ways to do that, and I’m honoured you consider Confessions…. one of those sources. I’m glad you’ve got others, too. So do I and it means the world to me.

  9. Congrats Margot – a really excellent idea and I shall be eagerly anticipating each new segment. A lot of my reading of late has been catching up with gaps from the past or getting reacquainted with old friends but it’s definitely time to look ahead and this will be a really fascinating guide.

    Thanks again.

    Sergio

    • Sergio – Thanks for the kind words :-). I’m glad you see this as a useful feature, and I’m hoping to introduce readers to some work they’ll enjoy. I know just what you mean, too, about the need to repair gaps in one’s reading; there are so many talented authors I simply haven’t read and should. Unfortunately, one does have to sleep and eat sometimes, and one does have to earn a living…

  10. That’s really cool. Love the new feature. Haven’t heard of Sam but I’ll go check out his stuff.

    • Clarissa – I’m really glad you like this feature :-). It’s hard for authors who aren’t “household names” to get their work “out there,” so I’m just trying to do my bit, you might say. I hope you like Sam’s work.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

