Grand Openings ;-)

DebutsIt’s the end of the year, and everyone’s getting ready to close out one year and start another. We’re looking forward to whatever new things the coming year may bring. Seems to me this is a great time for…
 
 
 

…a quiz! Oh, don’t even start! No-one forced you to visit this blog today, right? πŸ˜‰
 

Debut novels can be the start of wonderful series. And as a dedicated crime fiction fan, you know all of your debut novels, don’t you? Or do you? Take this handy quiz and find out. Match each question to the correct answer. At the end of the quiz, submit your answers to see how well you’ve done. You can also go back and see which answers you got correct.
 

Ready? Cut the ribbon to begin…if you dare… πŸ˜‰
 
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Grand Openings ;-)

  1. Fun way to end 2014. I missed one, the D.L.S. question. Went with Nine Tailors – rats! Thanks so much for all the work you do, day in & day out. It’s always so much fun to read your posts. I tried to leave this as a comment after the survey but for some reason the site would not allow me to log in, either as an existing user or a new one. It kept telling me that my email already exists – HAH

    Best Wishes for 2015 & Happy Reading!

    Icewineanne

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Anne – So glad you enjoyed the quiz! And a 9/10 is an excellent score – well done! Thank you also for the kind words. That means a lot to me. I’m very happy that you enjoy what you find here, and I hope you’ll have the time to visit in 2015, so I can learn from you. Have a wonderful holiday season!

  2. My brain isn’t working today– too tired from too much travelling visiting friends and family. I’ll have to come back for the quiz. Otherwise, I’d fail big time!

  3. I had 1-2 lucky guesses – which are good reminders that I need to read or reread some series. But all in all, I can’t complain about a 100% score!
    Thank you, Margot, for providing us with such good entertainment – at this time of year and at all other times!

    • Marina Sofia – Well done you!! I am very impressed! That’s a brilliant score, guesses or no. And thanks for the kind words. I’m very glad you like what you find here.

  4. Katy McCoy

    Dang it, I changed one answer at the end and missed it – how many times are we told not to do that? Cute quiz- I liked this one the best.

  5. Keishon

    Got them all right. That’s a first! This was a fun quiz. Thanks Margot.

  6. I got 100% also. I would have missed the Emily Tempest question but I had just been reading about that author. Got to get to that series.

    • Very well done, Tracy! That’s absolutely brilliant! Impressive indeed. And I do really hope you’ll get the chance to read the Emily Tempest novels. They really are fabulous.

  7. Margot: I was happy with 70%. I had my sons and my younger son’s partner (no names) do the quiz. The boys were at 40% and the girl was at 30%. They protest that they do not read mysteries regularly. I am not letting them off the hook. One of them took a university class on mysteries.

    • Bill – 70% is not a bad score at all. That’s especially true if you consider that there is no possibility of reading all of the good crime fiction out there. And I don’t blame you for not letting the young people off the hook. My students will be the first to attest that I am the ‘give no quarter’ type…

  8. kathy d.

    Well, I got 9 out of 10 right. I confess that I got the Sherlock Holmes’ question wrong. I read several of the Great Detective’s books while a teenager back in the 1500s, and I just don’t remember the culprits. So,
    on this one I knew the rest and didn’t guess.
    Ending the year on a fiendish quiz, of course!

  9. Hmm. 7/10 But one was a mistake where I swear I put an answer and it said I left it blank. Must try harder next time!

    • Sarah – I’m sorry if you had technical difficulties! I checked over the quiz and everything seemed to work. I’ll keep checking. In the meantime, 7/10 isn’t a bad score at all.

  10. Well, let smugness be uncontained – I got 100% correct! I did have to guess one of them though – great fun Margot, thanks as always.

    • Sergio – Oh, that’s excellent!! Brilliant indeed, and if it took one guess, there’s no harm in that. I wish I guessed well. Beautifully done, and I’m glad you enjoyed the quiz.

  11. Wishing you the very best for 2015, Margo. Thank you for your support during 2014. Have fun!

  12. Well that was my poorest result ever on your quizzes! I need to up my game in 2015 and pay more attention.

  13. 70% – my guessing powers clearly haven’t recovered from their Christmas excess! Great fun as always, Margot! Thanks! πŸ™‚

    • A score of 70% isn’t bad at all, FictionFan. I only wish I had really good guessing skills… And I think it’s got to be written in some law or other that serious thinking should not be attempted between Christmas and New Year’s.

  14. I shall return to do the quiz in the New Year. Internet keeps blinking on and off – think we are about to have a power cut. Happy 2015 everyone – be safe, be happy and keep healthy. πŸ™‚

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

