And the Winner is… ;-)

AwardsIt’s awards season! But the thing is, awards for books and writing go on all year long. And that puts me in mind of…
 
 
 

a quiz! Oh,Β please! Haven’t you learned by now to be careful around this blog?! πŸ˜‰

 

There are many different crime writing awards. And as a dedicated crime fiction fan, you know about all of them, don’t you? Or do you? Take this handy quiz and find out. Match each question with the correct answer. When you’ve finished, submit your answers to find out how well you’ve done. You can also see which answers you got correct.
 

Ready? Β Pick up the trophy to begin…if you dare πŸ˜‰
 
 

Writing-Award1

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “And the Winner is… ;-)

  1. Ha! The power of guessing is unimaginable – I only knew a few of the answers and guessed everywhere else and got 9/10. Unbelievable!

  2. Yep I had to guess a few as well. A devilish quiz indeed!

  3. Great fun Margot – I got 8 right, which I am very pleased about! Now, where did I leave my golden statue ..?

  4. And I thought this was finally one I could ace. Sigh! Only 60%

  5. Only 7/10. It’s a shame. πŸ˜‰

  6. Kathy D.

    Well, I did get 10 out of 10. This just shows I’m spending way too much time reading blogs and not enough time actually reading books! Quiz was fun.

  7. Not bad. I got 4 wrong. But– those four aren’t my genre or my country, so I don’t feel so bad. Honestly, this is best I’ve ever done with one of your darn quizzes!

  8. I am happy with 8 out of 10. Thank goodness for a couple of questions about awards I write about each year.

  9. 8 out of ten, with some lucky guesses as well, Margot.

    However.

    With all due respect, the Agathas are NOT given exclusively for cosies. Cosy is a subcategory within traditional (which is really what the Agathas represent). There are thrillers, PI novels, police procedurals, etc., on the Agatha list from Malice Domestic. They do have to adhere to the basic rules for “traditional” (i. e. Christie-like) mysteries – minimal violence, no on-stage or explicit sex, etc. Tell a Laurie R. King or a Laura Lippmann or a Martin Edwards that they write “cosies” and you’re likely to become a victim… πŸ˜‰

  10. Another fun quiz Margot – thanks πŸ™‚

  11. Katy McCoy

    That was fun – thanks!

  12. Col

    9/10 Last one caught me out, cheers! My best score on one of your quizzes so far.

  13. 8 out of 10, because I had to guess on two of them, and lost points on both.

    That was fun. Thanks.

  14. Wow that was the hardest quiz yet – some great guesses on my part though!

  15. tracybham

    I got 100%. A couple were guesses, but many of them I knew only because of all the blogs I read that talk about some of the more obscure awards.

  16. Even my guessing skills didn’t come to my aid this time! An appalling 50%!

  17. I got 8 out of 10. Pretty decent as some of them were mere guesses. Thanks for the quiz Margot. It is always fun to try these.

  18. Keishon

    7/10 – I learned something from this quiz and my guess work didn’t save me this time. The three award questions that I missed I’d never heard of before now – The Arthur Ellis, The Davitt and Ngaio Marsh Award. Fun and informative quiz. Thanks Margot. This was fun.

    • Oh, I’m glad you enjoyed this, Keishon :-). I’ve learned so much about the genre (including the awards) since I started really interacting with crime fiction fans around the world.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

