Do You Wanna Join the Race?*

GoSetaWatchmanIn one of the biggest pieces of literary/fiction news this year, Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman is about to be released. As you’ll no doubt know, the only other novel she’s released has been the critically acclaimed To Kill a Mockingbird. There’s no need to detail the long list of prizes it’s won, or the impact it’s had. Suffice it to say that it’s considered by many to be one of the best pieces of American literature. The University of Alabama Law School and the American Bar Association (ABA) have even instituted the Harper Lee Prize for Best Legal Fiction because of that novel.

There’s a great deal of anticipation about Go Set a Watchman, and there will no doubt be lots of people reading it. However, unlike many authors, Harper Lee won’t be making review copies available, giving interviews, or doing blog tours. So Bill Selnes at Mysteries and More From Saskatchewan had a terrific idea. Why not put together our own blog tour? It’s a great way to get some conversation going about the book, and see what each of us thinks.

 

Wanna be a part of it? You know you do! Here’s Bill’s idea:

 

  • Decide whether you’d like to be a part of the blog tour.

  • If you’re willing to commit to being a part of this tour, let Bill or me know by 10 July, so we can put the tour together.

  • The tour will start 23 July and run for approximately a week (it could certainly go a bit longer if there’s enough interest!). So it’ll also be very helpful to us if you’d let us know which date works best for you.

  • Once we know who’s interested, we’ll put the tour stops together and publish a list, so that everyone will be able to follow along.

  • Read the book and write your review or discussion of it. Then, plan to publish it on your blog when the tour stops there.

 

See? Couldn’t be easier!!

Don’t miss the tour!  You can use the comments section of this post to let us know you’re interested, or you can send an email to Bill (mysteriesandmore(at)gmail(dot)com) or to me (margotkinberg(at)gmail(dot)com). Any questions? Ask Bill or me, and we’ll be happy to answer them. All aboard!

 

ps.  Do feel free to use the logo to help us spread the word!

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from The Boo Radleys’ Find the Answer Within.

41 Comments

Filed under Harper Lee

41 responses to “Do You Wanna Join the Race?*

  1. Darn, the timing doesn’t work for me – although I am looking forward to this and will read it at some point. I certainly look forward to reading all of your reviews, though!

  2. Keishon

    I hadn’t planned on reading it. I’ll enjoy the reviews and discussion on the sidelines I guess. Good luck with the blog tour!

  3. I’ve tentatively agreed to review the audio version for Audible but as you say – no advance copies, so won’t get my grubby paws on it till publication day. I fear I ‘read’ audiobooks so slowly I couldn’t guarantee to be ready to review in that week, but I’ll be keen to follow the blog tour and hear what other people are thinking of it. Great idea!

  4. Margot: Thanks for your kind words. I look forward to more responses.

  5. My only concern is how fast I’d have to read the book. As you know I’m so busy right now, but I do read every morning. What’s the exact date the book comes out?

  6. What a great idea! Count me in. I should be able to have read it by that week, so could do any day.

  7. I would love to be a part. The later the better because I don’t know how long it would take for me to get the book.

  8. What a great idea of Bill’s and I will definitely be following the blog tour although I’m one of those who isn’t quite sure whether I’m going to read it or not… I’m very worried about spoiling the magic of To Kill a Mockingbird which I read as a teenager when I think it had maximum impact.

    • To Kill a Mockingbird really is a special book, isn’t it, Cleo? I don’t blame you for not wanting to spoil it. If you do decide to read Go Set a Watchman and join us, that’d be great. If not, you’re welcome to follow along with the tour. And I agree: Bill had a great idea!

  9. Margot I’m afraid I won’t be able to meet your deadline. I still need to read To Kill A Mockingbird first and don’t know how long it will take me to reach Go Set a Watchman. Am really sorry.

    • I understand completely what you mean about time, José Ignacio. There’s never enough time to read everything. If you do decide to read Go Set a Watchman at some point, I’ll be keen to know what you think of it.

  10. Col

    Oops, not read the first yet, but then I am about 50 years behind on my reading, so no surprise really,

  11. Would have loved to participate but sadly I don’t think I’ll have time to read a book in just over a week!! It’s a wonderful idea though and I hope you’ll post details once the tour starts so we can keep up with it.

  12. I won’t be in a position to take part in the blog tour at that time, but just wanted to say, To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my all time favourite books, and I am very much looking forward to reading her new book.

  13. I don’t know yet if I will read the book or not, but I look forward to reading the reviews by other bloggers to help me decide. This is a great idea that you and Bill came up with.

  14. Margot, that’s a swell idea from Bill. I wrote about Harper Lee’s second (and unexpected) book in April this year. I intend to read GO SET A WATCHMAN and immediately reread TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD to get a better perspective on the two interrelated books. I wonder what it’d have been like if Lee had been a prolific author with some two dozen novels to her credit. But I guess her charm lay in just that one book until now.

    • I agree with you that Bill had a great idea, Prashant. And I really like your idea too of re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird close to the same time to get a better perspective on both books. Interesting question, too, about what Lee might have been like if she’d been more prolific. My understanding is that she is a very retiring person; I think it’s harder to do that when you’re the author of a wildly popular books series.

  15. Pingback: Criticising All You See* | Confessions of a Mystery Novelist...

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

