I Wanna Show My Gratitude*

2015-11-25 11.55.54

As I post this, it’s Thanksgiving in the US. If you know that tradition, then you know it’s usually associated with big family meals (especially with turkey as the main course) and travel. Well….I’m doing the travel thing this year, but I’m not celebrating the way I usually do, since I’m out of the country.

Still, there are lots of things I’m grateful for this week, and this seems like a good time to mention some of them. Besides my family…..

 

I Am Grateful For…

 

You

That’s right, you. You folks are a constant source of support, inspiration and friendship, and I am grateful for that. This year in particular I’m grateful for you, because of your kind help with my research. If it weren’t for your help, I couldn’t have done the study that brought me to this conference; so really, I’ve brought you with me. Thank you for that, and for being friends with me.

 

The University of Auckland

The University of Auckland has done a terrific job of playing hosts to us delegates from all over the world. Friendly, helpful people, lovely surroundings, and generosity about the use of facilities, have made the conference a real success.

 

Paardekooper and Associates

These consummate experts at events and conferences have made sure that everything ran smoothly. Questions? Answered. Lost? Found. Timing? Spot on. Delegates? Fully informed about everything. Attitude? Always professional and friendly. Every time. Food? Erm – let’s just say I’m not weighing myself for at least a month after I get back…

 

The Language, Education and Diversity Conference Organising Committee

The Committee did a fantastic job of inviting interesting plenary speakers, including a wide variety of perspectives, and creating a well-structured conference that allowed for a lot of learning. I’m returning to the US with plenty of new ideas. The committee chose a group of informed and interesting presenters. And they chose me, too.

 

P.B. Technologies

This is a great computer sales and service company. Picture this: you’re in another country at a conference when your laptop crashes. By crashing, I mean not even a welcome screen. What do you do? I was lucky to find P.B. Technologies. High-quality customer service, fair prices, quick solutions, problem solved. Easy as. My computer still needs some more work, but if it weren’t for the good people at P.B., I’d probably have to buy a new laptop.

 

Hotel Pullman Auckland

Top-notch, friendly, professional service, even when you’re bedraggled, dirty, exhausted and cranky after twenty hours of travel. Terrific online connectivity centre, comfortable, quiet rooms with nice little touches of luxury. The professionals there do more than just their jobs. They make real efforts to ensure that each guest’s needs are met. And they do it without fanfare.

 

Often enough we’re quick to complain when things don’t go right. I’m guilty myself, at times. But it’s just as important, to me anyway, to say ‘thanks’ when things go very well.

To all my US readers, Happy Thanksgiving! To all of you, wherever you are, whatever you celebrate, my best to you!

 
 
 

*Note: The title of this post is a line from Paul McCartney’s Gratitude.

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “I Wanna Show My Gratitude*

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Margot!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving (again), Margot!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Margot!

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, Margot. And happy travels, too.

  5. Hope you are having a great day Margot 🙂

  6. Margot it is a joy to have you in our cyber world – thanks 🙂

  7. Janet Fearnley

    Happy Thanksgiving, Margot

  8. Margot: Happy American Thanksgiving. I am glad we have mutual thanks upon mystery book bloggers. As you appreciate us so we are grateful to have you in our lives.

  9. Col

    Enjoy the holiday!

  10. Thanks for these good wishes, Margot. What a nice way to spend your holiday this year.

  11. Happy Thanksgiving, Margot! Good wishes to you and your family.

  12. I’m thankful for you too Margot – you have introduced me to books that I would never have considered without your thoughtful and immensely readable posts. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  13. Kathy D.

    I’m also thankful for this blog and its educational and fun posts with so many book suggestions, and also for the commenters, too.
    I hope that there a reasonable facsimile of a turkey dinner has appeared for you in New Zealand.

    • Thanks, Kathy – very much. Well, no turkey dinner in New Zealand, but my family and I had a ‘Thanksgiving dinner’ last week before I left for my trip. So I wasn’t left out, so to speak.

  14. And the same to you, Margot!

  15. Hope you had a great day – and safe journey home! I’m thankful for you and your blog too, Margot – a great place to visit! 🙂

  16. (belated) Happy Thanksgiving, Margot! And happy travels.

  17. Happy Thanksgiving, and hope the rest of your trip is as good… we all have so much to be thankful for.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

