You Could Be the One*

Eva DolanThere’s something about discovering a new (or at least new-to-you) author, isn’t there? If the book you’re reading is really absorbing, it’s enough to make you forget all of those noble resolutions about getting through that TBR.

That magic is part of the reason I’m always happy to be a part of the New (to Me, Anyway) Authors meme hosted by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise. My choice for this quarter is Eva Dolan.

Based in Essex, Dolan is a copywriter and ‘intermittently successful poker player.’ She is also the author of a series of novels featuring DI Dushan Zigic and DS Mel Ferreira of the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit. They’re a good fit for this unit, too. Zigic is third-generation English, and Ferreira came to England from Portugal as a young girl.

In their first outing, Long Way Home, Zigic and Ferreira investigate the long-way-home-pbkdeath of a man whose body is found in a shed belonging to Paul and Gemma Barlow. When reports come in that the man is Estonian immigrant Jaan Stepnow, it looks very much as though this is an anti-immigrant hate crime, so it seems a good fit for Zigic and Ferreira’s unit. In the process of finding out who killed the victim and why, the detectives (and readers) learn quite a bit about life for many immigrants in Peterborough and East Anglia. Their job is made more difficult because many migrant workers are off the proverbial grid. So dental records, credit card and banking histories, employment records and the like can’t be used to trace victims’ last days and connect them with their killers. What’s more, many of the people who knew this victim are not exactly eager to talk to the police or admit anything they may know. But in the end, Zigic and Ferreira learn who the killer is.

Tell No TalesIn Tell No Tales, Zigic and Ferreira have two very difficult cases to investigate. One is a hit-and-run incident in which Jelena Krasic, a Croatian immigrant, is killed, and her sister Sofia badly injured. Sofia claims that the driver was Jelena’s ex-boyfriend Anthony Gilbert, who’d been stalking her. But the detectives find it’s not as simple as that when they discover that Sofia may have her own reasons for not telling the truth. At the same time, Zigic and Ferreira investigate some very troubling neo-Nazi activity in the area. Now they face a great deal of pressure from the media to make some arrests, and their task is not made any easier by the fact that some very highly-placed people could be involved.

The third Zigic and Ferreira novel, After You Die, is scheduled for release in After You Die January.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

Want to know more about Eva Dolan? Her website is right here, and her Twitter site is here.

Want to know more about Long Way Home? Check it out here.

Want to know more about Tell No Tales? It’s all right here.

Want to know more about After You Die? Read all about it right here.

 

 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is the title of a Brian McKnight song.

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “You Could Be the One*

  1. Eva Dolan is author who I’ve read so many good things about but I haven’t got around to reading yet. 2015 bought me lots of new to me reads and so my list of loved authors just grows

    • I know exactly what you mean, Cleo. I’ve got so many new-to-me authors to try that I’m not sure I’m ever going to quite catch up. If you do get the opportunity, though, I do recommend Dolan’s work.

  2. Yep, she’s a good un!

  3. I’ve been hearing about Eva Dolan so definitely need to check her out…

  4. I’m in the same situation as Cleo. Thanks for the reminder to read Eva Dolan, Margot — my first resolution of the New Year 😉

    • I honestly think you’d like Eva Dolan’s work, Angela. She addresses many of the cultural and other social issues you address in your own work. And the stories are absorbing, too.

  5. Col

    I have the first which I will try and get read this year. This does seem an interesting series.

  6. Kathy D.

    Yes. I concur. Eva Dolan’s books are excellent, interesting protagonists and social issues, especially the mistreatment of immigrants. And she does this so well.

  7. Ha, pleased to hear she is striking a chord with you, Margot – I really enjoy her writing, both the style and the social issues she so unflinchingly tackles.

    • She is striking a chord with me, Marina Sofia. As you say, her writing style is so effective, and she addresses a lot of important issues without overburdening the reader. Rather, she tells a story.

  8. Margot, I have heard of the author too and the next best thing to do would be to read her books. Thanks for the spotlight on Eva Dolan.

  9. Haven’t read her books, but they sound terrific.

  10. These are on my wish list Margot.

  11. Looks worthwhile investigating further, thanks for the introduction to Eva Dolan. Thanks so much 🙂

  12. Thanks so much for introducing Eva Dolan and her novels, Margot. I’m putting her on my TBR list right now!

  13. Thanks for all the info on Eva Dolan, Margot. I don’t need any new authors right now, but I am sure I will read the first one sometime soon.

    • I know all about having a lot of new authors to read, Tracy! When you do get the chance, though, I recommend Dolan’s work. I think she writes solid mysteries and well-drawn characters.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

