Tell Me Your Stories*

TomSawyerA couple of weeks ago, I shared a few 50-word murder stories – they’re called Dribbles – on this blog. Then, I invited you folks to do my work for me share your own Dribbles and Drabbles (100-word stories). To those of you who sent me your stories, thank you!

As you’re about to see, I have some truly talented blog friends. Here are your Dribbles and Drabbles.

 

From Col, who blogs at Col’s Criminal Library

The priest pushed the boy away, zipping up.
“Are you finished, Father?” the boy’s dad smirked, entering the vestibule.
Shamefacedly, “Aye, I’m all done, thirty?” – extracting some notes.
“Yeah, I’ll see you next week then.  Him or his brother?”
“The brother.”
“C’mon now son, let’s get ourselves home.”
“Ok, daddy…..”

 

From FictionFan, who blogs at FictionFan’s Book Reviews

“I love you, Sylvia” he breathed softly, as they stood together on the balcony.
She kissed him, long and slow, one last time. “Gotta go, babe…”
He was so surprised he didn’t even scream as he fell.
She shook her head sadly. “Really should have remembered my name’s Julia, babe.”

 

From Cleo, who blogs at Cleopatra Loves Books

Callum kicked off his shoes and wandered into the kitchen to pick up a beer from the fridge.
‘Had a tough day darling?’ asked his wife, Suzy, kindly.
Callum grunted and turned around to see burly Nick, the husband of his lover. His day was just about to get worse!

********************************************************

Jane made another phone call, the fifth, extolling the prowess of her bratty children.
The whole office sighed.
She reached into her super-sized bag of popcorn and absent-mindedly stuffed a handful in her mouth.
She screamed as she bit down on the mouse droppings.
For once her noisiness was justified.

 

From crime writer D.S. Nelson

I’d never considered murder before; not seriously. Now, with the knife in my hand, it was the obvious option.She had her back to me, chatting, watching the kettle boil. If only she hadn’t seen me. Now I’d have to find someone else to go on the jam-making course with.
 

From Jane L.

No-one told him about the dog. He’d had a clear run. The so-called secure complex was barely a challenge, the target easily despatched. The dog had been in the lounge room, cowering. He knew he had to get out, timing was everything. But he couldn’t leave the dog.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Aren’t they great?! Again, my thanks. Now, please, pay these bloggers and writers a visit at their great blogs. You won’t regret it. Hey, you! Over there in the corner! Stop calling me Tom Sawyer! The work’s done, isn’t it? 😉 And seriously, these are great stories! Thanks, folks!

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Shane Howard’s Flesh and Blood.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Tell Me Your Stories*

  1. What a varied selection of dribbles Margot – thanks for including my effort

  2. Hehe! These are great, Tom! Er… I mean, Margot! You’ve got everything there from ‘cozy’ to humour to dark-dark! See how much you inspire us? Remind me not to annoy any of these bloggers… 😉

    • A-hem, FictionFan! It’s Margot!! 😉 – In all seriousness, you and your fellow bloggers have truly done a fantastic job here. I’m impressed! And yes, I think it’s a good idea to be very nice to these good people.

  3. Margot, I’m sorry I couldn’t deliver any within the deadline but I liked all the other contributions. Well done! Col’s was…wait, let me clear my throat…still clearing… Why are Drabbles and Dribbles usually of the dark variety? I suppose they are easier and faster to write off the top of one’s head.

    • I’m glad you liked these, Prashant. You and the other people who visit my blog are really talented! And you’re right; Dribbles and Drabbles do get dark at times. Perhaps one reason might be that they don’t allow for lighter moments and less intense character development?

  4. Prashant makes a good point, those all seem to be dark. But all very good, and I am impressed with all of them.

  5. Kathy D.

    Great that people can write short fiction and make it punchy. A talent.

  6. Kathy D.

    Not mine. Glad others can do it.

  7. Great stuff. But, honestly Margot, do you ever *worry* that you have such a twisted collection of readers…

  8. Kathy D.

    Touche!
    I like your readers’ comments and stories, brightens up every day along with the posts. Very clever people, indeed.

  9. Good for you Margot! I’ve lost my way with the deluge of e-mails in my inbox, so I only just saw this! Encouraging “flash” fiction is a GREAT IDEA!

  10. I can’t believe I missed this Margot! Thank you for including my little offering and these are superb! 🙂

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

