In The Spotlight: Adrian McKinty’s The Cold, Cold Ground

>In The Spotlight: Rex Stout's Fer de LanceHello, All,

Welcome to another edition of In The Spotlight. The period known in Ireland as ‘the Troubles’ was a wrenching time, and has had a lasting impact on many, many people. We still see the impact today. To get a sense of what that time was like in Northern Ireland, let’s turn today’s spotlight on Adrian McKinty’s The Cold, Cold Ground, the first of his Sean Duffy novels.

It’s 1981, in the midst of the Troubles. D.S. Duffy is that rarity: a Catholic in the almost completely Protestant Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC), posted to Carrickfergus. As it is, everyone’s nerves are on edge from the many riots going on. The recent deaths of two hunger strikers imprisoned in the Maze (Long Kesh) hasn’t helped matters at all.

Against that background, the body of Tommy Little is discovered dumped in a field. At first his death looks like a case of IRA ‘internal justice.’ But the case gets complicated when the body of Andrew Young is discovered in his cottage. He’s been killed in exactly the same way, and is not deeply involved with the IRA. Then, Duffy is contacted by a man who claims he’s the killer. He tells Duffy that he’s targeting homosexuals, and that more will die.

This complicates matters for a number of reasons. For one thing, homosexuality is illegal in that place and at that time. So the RUC isn’t likely to get any help from anyone who’s gay and who might have known the victims. And groups such as the IRA, who don’t want to be seen as accepting homosexuality, will do their best to hush the whole thing up. They’ll also do their best to cover up the fact that Little was widely known to be gay, but was accepted for quite a while before he was killed.

In the meantime, Duffy’s working on another case. Lucy O’Neill Moore, ex-wife of one of the hunger strikers in the Maze, has been found hung, apparently a suicide. Duffy has some questions about the death, though, and decides to follow up on them. For one thing, there’s the fact that she had given birth shortly before her death. At that time, and in that place, it’s not unheard of for an unwed mother to commit suicide. But then, where is the baby? And why did she disappear just before she died?

Duffy and his team face a number of challenges as they try to get to the truth in these cases. They are, of course, reviled by all Republicans. And even those who aren’t necessarily deep-dyed IRA supporters don’t want to be seen as assisting the police. But Duffy persists and, in the end, finds that this case is much more complicated than a man who’s targeting homosexuals.

One of the important elements in this novel is its sense of time and place. It’s a very dangerous time, no matter what side one’s on in the conflict. For the police, it’s especially dangerous. Every copper knows he has to check under his car for bombs, every time. And the police put on full riot gear whenever they go into certain areas, no matter the reason for their presence. Even the police stations are heavily guarded and protected, as there’ve been incidents of bombs and other attacks on RUC locations.

McKinty evokes the time and place in other ways, too. In the attitudes towards divorce, pregnancy, homosexuality and other issues, we see a strong conservative tradition. The politics of the time also feature heavily in the story. There’s also, as you might expect, a lot of bitterness between Catholics and Protestants, which often escalates into confrontation and more. And, since it’s the RUC’s job to try to keep the peace, neither side likes them very much.

Because Duffy’s a member of the RUC, there is also an element of the police procedural in the this novel. Duffy and his teammates interview people, get forensics information, and follow up leads. And it’s worth noting that, since this novel takes place in 1981, readers get a look at the way police did their work in the days before computers and the Internet.

Through it all moves Duffy, a Catholic in a very Protestant group. He’s not exactly observant, but he’s still a Catholic. That makes him a traitor in the eyes of the Republicans (because he’s in the RUC). And it makes him suspicious in the eyes of some of his Protestant colleagues, to say nothing of the Protestants who live near him. He’s trying to solve the murders, but there are plenty of people on both sides who don’t trust him.

Duffy has to deal with, and sometimes go up against, some very dangerous people. And I can say without spoiling the story that some of them are powerful. So there’s somewhat of a thriller element to the pacing and action in the novel. It’s not always clear who can be trusted and who can’t. And the closer that Duffy gets to the truth, the more danger there is for him. Readers who like that sort of pace will appreciate this.

The truth behind the murders is ugly, and even the somewhat jaded Duffy has difficulty with it. It’s not a neatly tied up package, so to speak, either. Readers who prefer mysteries where the ‘bad guy’ is duly caught and sent to prison will notice this. That said though, the solution is in keeping with the noir tone of the story.

There is a certain wit in the story. Here, for instance, is a bit of a conversation between Duffy and a colleague:
 

‘‘Last night I told a mate…my theory…’…[About the case]
‘What did he say to that?’ McCrabben asked.
‘He said I was a genius and he sent over the file on Jack the Ripper.’
‘Have you solved that one too?’
‘It was Queen Victoria.’
‘I knew it all along. Easy to conceal a machete under all that crinoline.’’
 

The wit reflects the cynical, jaded attitude of people who’ve seen too much death.

The Cold, Cold Ground is a police procedural that takes place during a terrible, wrenching time for Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, and England. It features a police detective who’s just trying to do his job in, quite literally, a war zone. And it depicts the culture of the time and place. But what’s your view? Have you read The Cold, Cold Ground? If you have, what elements do you see in it?

 

 
 

Coming Up On In The Spotlight

 

Monday 8 March/Tuesday 9 March – A Perfect Match – Jill McGown

Monday 15 March/Tuesday 16 March – Dissolution – C.J. Sansom

Monday 22 March/Tuesday 23 March – Shinju – Laura Joh Rowland

27 Comments

Filed under Adrian McKinty, Cold Ground

27 responses to “In The Spotlight: Adrian McKinty’s The Cold, Cold Ground

  1. I loved this book…I think for me the best thing about it was that it didn’t hide the truth of how awful the Troubles must have been to live through but it still had a sense of humour…it was not universally bleak…hard to pull off I think as many books set in such times and places just reek of misery

    • I couldn’t agree more, Bernadette. McKinty captures brilliantly the reality of the Troubles. At the same time, it’s not unrelentingly sad and bleak. There’s some wit, and there’s a sense that people are still alive and trying to be humans, if that makes any sense.

  2. I am often not drawn to books like this, just because the real-life aspects get in the way (this just me of course).Glad to hear there is humour, but I probably won;t pick it up any time soon – enjoyed your post as always Margot, thanks.

  3. I’ve just finished reading it, and I enjoyed the writing style and the humour, and thought that for the first half or so he gave a very authentic feel to the time of the Troubles. But to be honest I thought it crossed too far over the credibility line in several places and particularly the end. Still haven’t quite decided what rating I’ll be giving it – I quite often don’t know till I write the review…

    • Thanks very much for your candor, as ever, FictionFan. I agree completely about the authenticity and the writing style and wit. I know what you mean about the credibility – I do. Perhaps that aspect of it didn’t grate me the way it did you (‘though such things usually do grate me). I’ll be really interested to see your review when you get to it.

  4. Never ever thought I’d want to read anything about The Troubles, but some how I got started with this book.
    This is one of my two favourite series, long may the books keep coming

  5. Col

    I just checked back and it’s nearly two years since I read this one. Great sense of time and place with it. Can’t believe I haven’t read more in the series yet!

  6. Keishon

    Like Cole, I haven’t read more but I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. Need to get back on track. Great Spotlight as usual, Margot. PS. I hope to catch up with you and (other readers) as life has been a big distraction of late. Hope you are well and again, thanks for spotlighting this novel. Hope more readers pick it up. I want this man to have a huge reading audience because he deserves it along with other writers like him.

    • McKinty is talented, isn’t he, Keishon? And I know just exactly what you mean about life getting in the way of, well, life. That happens to us all, I think. Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words.

  7. I don’t think it’s a spoiler to say that another key aspect of the series is that it has walk-on appearances by real-life figures from Northern Ireland’s history of the time – particularly Gerry Adams and Ian Paisley – and thinly disguised characters who are clearly Oliver North, John De Lorean and Freddie Scappaticci.

  8. I haven’t, but it sounds like my kind of story. When you first mentioned the Troubles I thought of Stephen King’s Haven. But this sounds like a different meaning entirely. I’m intrigued.

    • I’ve never seen Haven, Sue, but I’ve heard it’s good. The Troubles here refers to the political, religious, and sectarian violence in Northern Ireland (and not always just there!) that officially ended with the 1998 Good Friday Agreement. It’s a really effective backdrop for this series. If you do read it, I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  9. Margot, I have not read “The Cold, Cold Ground” but I’d certainly like to read it given my familiarity with the uprising, and especially the IRA, through the novels of Jack Higgins (Harry Patterson) as well as serious reading of the issue in the 80s and 90s. Such novels are replete with atmosphere and, as you mention, cynicism. The humour would be an interesting element.

    • You really have a background knowledge of that time, then, Prashant! In that case, you probably would really appreciate the atmosphere that McKinty evokes here. I think he does a really effective job of that. If you do read it, I’ll be interested in what you think.

  10. I actually struggled with the plot in this one – I found the first half good and I really liked the voice but sadly it did lose me in the second half

    • I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed in this one, Cleo, as far as the second half goes. No book is for everyone, though, and I am glad you enjoyed the first half.

  11. Kathy D.

    I have avoided reading books about the “Troubles.” I have gotten myself to read novels set during the anti-Semitic pogroms in Russia in the early 1900s, which forced out my maternal grandparents.
    But I haven’t braved reading about the strife in my paternal grandparents’ homeland. It was enough that I heard that every day for 50 years they argued with each other because one was Protestant and the other Catholic. In Ireland, this is considered a “mixed marriage.” So, do I need to enter into this world which is so like the reality?
    I have read other books set in Ireland, but today.

    • It’s so interesting, isn’t it, Kathy, how perspective impacts people’s views. As you say, a Protestant/Catholic marriage is considered a ‘mixed marriage’ in the Ireland from whence your grandparents came. Not so in other places. And I don’t blame you for avoiding books that are, if I may put it this way, too close to home. I think there are books and topics we all avoid for that reason.

  12. This is a difficult subject to read about. I do have this book and haven’t read it yet, but I will get there.

  13. One of my favorite books of the last few years. And it’s up now. It was the first one up and I lost that draft…

  14. I think mckinty is a very good writer, but the content is too harsh for me, and the era too rcent and too close to home for me. but I completely understand his appeal for others.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

