Scandi-lous! ;-)

Petrona LogoThe shortlist for the 2016 Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel has recently been announced. I think it’s very exciting to see so much great Scandinavian crime fiction available. And it’s all got me thinking about…

 

 

 

 

…a quiz! Ohย please! You know this blog is dangerous! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Some excellent crime fiction has come to us from the Scandinavian countries. And as a dedicated crime fiction fan, you know all of your Scandinavian crime fiction, don’t you? Or do you? Take this handy quiz and find out. Match each question to the correct answer, and see how many you get right.

 

Ready? Pour yourself an Akvavit to begin…if you dare! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Akvavit

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “Scandi-lous! ;-)

  1. Keishon

    I enjoy participating in your quizzes. Scored 100%. Okay, I admit that on two questions I guessed correctly but still your quizzes can be pretty tough Margot so I’m glad this one was one of the easier ones. Or this just could be that I’ve read all but two of the authors in this quiz. Thanks for a few minutes of fun today. Hope everything is going well with you and yours.

  2. That was a hard one Margot – I’ve not read much Scandi fiction lately but managed 80% with a few judicious guesses!

  3. Well, I failed that miserably. I don’t read Scandinavian crime novels, so it came as no surprise. lol Still was fun, though.

  4. That was dreadful, Margot! A measly 6 out of 10 and three of them were totally random guesses! I fear all these Scandi countries and cities (and names) merge into one for me – I have a total blind spot about them. I shall now go off and read my atlas… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Kathy D.

    I got a 90%. However, I’ll remember that I got 10 out of 10 on the last quiz.
    But the main problem is that sometimes I have to snap myself out of just wanting to read Nordic noir and force myself to move on to other countries’ fiction.

    • Oh, Kathy, 9/10 is a fantastic score! Well done – I’m impressed. And I know what you mean; sometimes it is good to vary one’s reading. That’s why I’m so glad there’s all kinds of well-written crime fiction out there.

  6. Well, that was a surprise. I was 10/10. A good way to end the day.

  7. Like FictionFan, I had a bit of a blank and only scored 7 out of 10. Those Scandinavian author names all look the same to me… (now that’s a racist remark if I ever saw one). I can only tell the Icelandic names apart.

    • You know, Marina Sofia, a 7/10 is a perfectly respectable score. I know what you mean, too, about drawing a blank. I do that, too, at times. And lots of people have trouble keeping names straight, especially if they’re in a different language. And sometimes even if they’re not.

  8. I got 9 and am pleased with that. Thanks, Margot: good fun.

  9. I got 2 right by guessing and 8 wrong with the same method. Ha! I simply do not retain this stuff. Even when I’m recommending a book I am currently reading I have to check the cover for the details!

    • Albert Einstein is said to have remarked that there are two kinds of knowing: knowing information, and knowing where to find it. So long as you know where to find titles, characters and so on, that’s what matters, Jan.

  10. Margot, since I have never read Scandinavian crime fiction I thought it wouldn’t be right to answer the questions based on guess work. I will take this quiz as an inspiration to read some of these wonderful authors who have, no doubt, created a world filled with new mysteries and intrigues for readers.

  11. Have only read a few so I will skip this one.

  12. SteveHL

    I got four, two of which I actually knew and two correct guesses. I really do enjoy your quizzes; of course, I enjoy them more when I do better.

  13. mudpuddle

    i surprised myself, i actually got one right; pretty good considering i’ve never read a Scandinavian mystery; no, i read one: Smilla’s sense of Snow which was pretty good…

    • That is a well-regarded novel, Mudpuddle, and has some really interesting characters in it. In fact, I thought of including it in this quiz, but didn’t. I’m glad you mentioned it.

  14. Well I only got 4 right, but that’s fair, it’s an area I really know only a little bit about – but love the quizes Margot so had to try anyway!

  15. I got a low 60% – but was pleased with that because Scandi-noir isn’t my thing, and I thought I might do a lot worse…

  16. Icewineanne

    Hah! The worst i’ve ever done & i’m part Finnish – how sad is that?!!! Love your quizzes, they point me to areas where i need to increase my knowledge. Have The Keeper of Lost Causes on my night-table, can’t wait to dive in!
    Thanks for a fun & informative quiz Margot ๐Ÿ™‚

    • So glad you enjoyed the quiz, Anne ๐Ÿ™‚ – And I do hope you’ll like The Keeper of Lost Causes. It’s a fine novel, I think, and the start to a good series.

  17. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…4/3/16 – Where Worlds Collide

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

