How the Music Can Free Her Whenever it Starts*

music-to-write-books-byYou’ve probably already guessed this about me, but I love music. My tastes are fairly eclectic, too. Among the many things I like about music is that it inspires me and resonates with me. It fuels my writing, too.

I’m honoured and excited that author and fellow blogger Sarah Ward has invited me to visit her blog, Crimepieces, as a part of her Music to Write Books By feature! Wanna know what’s playing in the background? Please come pay me a visit at Crimepieces, where I’ll be sharing some of the music that’s inspired my writing.

During your visit, do have a look around the blog. It’s a terrific resource for crime fiction from lots of different places, especially Nordic noir. You’ll also want to try her novels, In Bitter Chill and A Deadly Thaw. You won’t regret it!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to start the playlist…

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from the Lovin’ Spoonful’s Do You Believe in Magic?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “How the Music Can Free Her Whenever it Starts*

  1. Delighted to see you featured on Sarah’s blog, Margot. Scurrying straight over to read about the music that inspires you. 🙂

  2. That was fun – I always enjoy learning more about what inspires people! And your new project sounds most intriguing… 🙂

  3. Margot, I like music because it instantly puts me in a good mood. I agree, Sarah writes a terrific blog. Her reviews are short and yet she misses nothing.

    • You’re absolutely right about Sarah’s blog, Prashant. It’s excellent, isn’t it? I always learn from her posts. And I feel the same way about music as you do.

  4. Nothing digs up old memories like a song from a certain point and time. Problem is, I drive my husband nuts. Because when I find the perfect song I play over and over while I envision the scene I’m about to write. “How Am I Suppose To Live Without You” has played endlessly while writing one of my sequels, but it’s really helped me to tap into the right emotions.

    • I know what you mean, Sue! I’m exactly the same when there’s a song that captures a mood I want or a scene I have in mind. That’s just one of those things that writers’ partners have to deal with, I suppose…

  5. Col

    Can you read with music on? I can’t it’s too distracting for me.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

