You’re So Perfect, That’s Why I Love You*

madhumitabhattacharyyaIt’s always such a pleasure to ‘meet’ new authors. That’s why I’m so glad for the New (to Me, Anyway) Authors meme led by Kerrie, at Mysteries in Paradise. It’s a terrific reminder to stay open to new reading experiences.

This quarter, I had the great pleasure of ‘meeting’ Madhumita Bhattacharyya. She’s lived in several places in the world, but grew up in Calcutta, where she worked for ten years as a journalist and a non-profit sector employee. After moving around more, she has settled in Bangalore, where she is currently a freelance writer and editor.

masala-murder

I first got to know Bhattacharyya through her debut novel, The Masala Murder, the first in her PI Reema Ray
trilogy. In that novel, Ray is trying to make a go of it with her own Calcutta-based PI agency. She’s having difficulty making ends meet, though, so she also does freelance writing for a lifestyle magazine called Face. That’s how she finds out about the death of gourmet food importer Prakash Agarwal. At first, the death is considered the tragic result of an unexpected illness. But it’s not long before hints come out that it might have been something else. Agarwal’s widow asks Ray to let her know of any new information she may find out, so Ray starts to ask questions. And she soon learns that there are several possibilities when it comes to suspects. Agarwal was an astute businessman, but had made more than his share of enemies. In the meantime, Ray has another case on her hands. Her ex, Amit, pays her a visit. It seems his wife, Aloka, has been abducted, and her family blames him. Amit wants Ray to help clear his name if she can. It’s not spoiling the story to say that as a result of these investigations, new opportunities come Ray’s way.

dead-in-a-mumbai-minuteIn the second book of the trilogy, Dead in a Mumbai Minute, Ray has gone to Mumbai in her new capacity as an agent for one of India’s best and most secret detective/security agencies, Titanium Security. Once there, she is given the case of the murder of Ashutosh Dhingre, assistant to former Bollywood superstar Kimaaya Kapoor. The murder takes place on a private island belonging to the superstar, and the suspects are among Bollywood’s ‘glitterati.’ The third novel in the trilogy, Goa Undercover, sees Ray doing undercover work at an ashram run by a shady guru. It seems that someone is targeting the agency that employs Ray, and its employees could be in real danger. As you can see, the Reema Ray trilogy takes readers to several different parts of India, and involve her in different sorts of cases.

goa-undercover

 

 

Want to know more about Madhumita Bhattacharyya? Here’s a little information. And Here’s an interview with her in The Hindu.

Want to know more about The Masala Murder? Check it out here.

Want to know more about Dead in a Mumbai Minute? It’s right here.

Want to know more about Goa Undercover? You can find it here.

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Insomnia’s Why I Can’t Forget About You.

18 Comments

Filed under Madhumita Bhattacharyya

18 responses to “You’re So Perfect, That’s Why I Love You*

  1. My goodness, I can’t imagine my husband disappearing or getting kidnapped. Interesting mysteries. Congratulations to the new author.

  2. Oh dear! Only day 2 of the New Year and already my TBR pile is growing. How hadn’t I already heard of Madhumita Bhattacharyya? Thanks for the recommendation, Margot. And Happy New Year to you.

    • Thanks, Angela – and to you. And I think you might like Madhumita Bhattacharyya’s work. She has, in my opinion, a fine balance of ‘not-overly-gritty’ and ‘not-overly-cosy.’ And her novels do provide a solid sense of place. If you try her work, I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  3. Thanks for bringing this author to my attention, Margot. Her novels sound intriguing and I will be sure to add them to my TBR pile also.

  4. Tim

    Well, I hope my local library has something by this author! You’ve baited the hook very nicely!

  5. What an interesting premise and it would certainly be a new setting for me – I don’t think I’ve read a mystery book, let alone a trilogy, set in India before.

    • I know just what you mean, Cleo. I found the settings for this trilogy really interesting, too! And the premise does work, I think. I know that, at least on this side of the pond, you can get these as e-books. If you do get your hands on one of these, I’ll be keen to know what you think of it .

  6. Margot, sometimes I wonder if I actually live in India. I’m so far removed from Indian fiction. You have been goading me into reading Indian writing in English. Madhumita Bhattacharyya’s trilogy sounds very interesting, especially books two and three, as I’m familiar with both the settings.

    • Prashant, you have no idea how many US writers I haven’t read! I know just how you feel. There’s just never time to read it all, is there? If you do try this trilogy, I hope you’ll enjoy it. I like it that the main character travels to different parts of the country. For someone like me, it’s a chance to explore different parts of India.

  7. Sounds interesting, and easy to find. I will try one of these out.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

