I Feel Possessed When You Come Round*

I always enjoy getting to know the work of new-to-me authors; it broadens my reading horizons. And, the more variety among the voices in crime fiction, the stronger the genre is. That’s why I’m always pleased to participate in the New (To Me, Anyway) Author meme hosted by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise. By the way, if you’re not already following that excellent blog, you want to, sooner rather than later. It’s a treasure trove of crime fiction reviews.

This quarter, I finally got to ‘meet’ Caroline Overington, and I’m very glad I did. Overington is a journalist who’s won several prizes, including the News Limited Sir Keith Murdoch Prize for Journalism in 2006 and the Walkley Award, which notes and rewards excellence in journalism. She’s used that background to good effect in her other writing, too. In fact, she was the 2015 winner of the Davitt Award for Crime Fiction, for her true crime book, Last Woman Hanged.

I first ‘met’ her, though, through Sisters of Mercy. In that novel, journalist Jack ‘Tap’ Fawcett is asked to cover the story of a missing visitor to New South Wales, Agnes Moore. As Fawcett begins to look into the case, he learns more about Moore’s background and life. And that’s how he learns that she has a much-younger sister, Sally Narelle ‘Snow’ Delaney. As he continues to report on the case, Snow begins to write to him from the prison where she’s incarcerated. As the story goes on, we follow both the case of Agnes Moore, and the crime for which Snow was convicted. As Snow tells her story, mostly through letters, we learn her history, and her perspective on the events that led to her imprisonment. As those events unfold, Overington also explores some larger social issues, and how they play out in New South Wales.

Overington has written other standalones as well, including The Lucky One, Matilda is Missing, Ghost Child, and I Came to Say Goodbye. Each has a different take on the psychological thriller. And several of them explore the dynamic among partners and family members.

Want to know more about Caroline Overington? Her website is right here. And here is her Twitter account.

Want to know more about Sisters of Mercy? It’s right here.

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Crowded House’s I Feel Possessed.

18 Comments

Filed under Caroline Overington

18 responses to “I Feel Possessed When You Come Round*

  1. Anything and everything Australia is good from my point of view. I spent 2 weeks there is past Fall and loved it a lot.

  2. Col

    Margot thanks for the introduction.

  3. Thank you for introducing me to another name new to me in the crime fiction world. I will see if I can find a copy of SofM. On a completely unrelated note — or it is? — I wonder two things: (1) the motivations of crime fiction writers; (2) the reasons why readers read crime fiction. Perhaps you and your many, many visitors will weigh in on one or both of those questions. I suppose there are no quick and easy answers, but I remain curious.

    • You’re right, Tim, that your questions don’t have easy answers. But that doesn’t mean it’s not worth asking them. In my opinion, everyone has different reasons for enjoying crime fiction. For some, it’s the intellectual challenge of solving a puzzle. For others, it’s an interest in imposing some order on a chaotic world. Once the criminal’s identified, the world is a bit more ‘right.’ For still others, it’s the psychology of crime and criminals. And there are myriad other reasons, too – far too many for me to address in one comment.

      As to Caroline Overington, she’s a skilled writer with a strong background in journalism. And she brings that to her work. If you try it, I hope you’ll enjoy it.

    • Keishon

      Great questions Tim.
      I can only speak for me. It’s really is the talent of the writer. I like suspense stories, dark stories and some violent stories but they must show justice being served with the occasional realistic “we can’t catch them all” scenario. Probably 85% of those stories are for entertainment and there’s nothing wrong with that. The really good ones have a message, however. A lot of crime fiction is about showing us a dysfunctional family or societal norms or morality gone wrong or what have you. I find stories where people are pushed to their limits to be fascinating or even those who are accidental criminals. A good crime writer will usually explore the pathway to criminality while some show how crimes affect victims and communities.

  4. Keishon

    Thanks for the introduction Margot. I will certainly keep her work in mind.

  5. There is no one who introduces more new writers than you do. Reading international blogs has probably been the wind behind your wings.

    • Thanks very much, Patti. And it’s quite true: the more international blogs I read, the more interesting new-to-me authors I ‘meet.’ That’s one of the best things about being a part of the blogoverse.

    • I so agree! Thanks for introducing Overington, Margot. Sisters of Mercy intrigues me.
      And kudos to Kerrie for her comprehensive blog! 🙂

  6. How thrilling to meet Caroline Overington – I have read I Came to Say Goodbye and was thrilled to see she had written Last Woman Hanged which had real parallels with the suffragette movement in the UK. Brilliant books and thanks for reminding me that I have two more books to check out!

    • Isn’t she talented, Cleo? And I really do like the journalistic perspective that she takes in a lot of her work. I think she has real skill at evoking an atmosphere.

  7. this author is new to me too, and she does sound very interesting. I must find one of her books.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

