Everybody Get Together*

One of the best things about the crime fiction blogging world is that we get to learn about excellent novels – books we might not have thought of, or known about, before. Of course, that’s not always good for the TBR, but it broadens our reading horizons. I know I’ve learned an awful lot from reading reviews on blogs I follow, and read much more widely because of them.

That’s one reason I’m glad to be a part of Petrona Remembered. For those of you who don’t know (or have forgotten), Petrona Remembered is a fantastic collection of reviews of fine crime fiction. It’s dedicated to the memory of Maxine Clarke, who was a true friend of the genre. I was fortunate enough to know Maxine (virtually, at any rate), and was always impressed with her knowledge of the genre and her support for high quality crime writing. I will also always be grateful that she chose to befriend me, and visit my blog. Her support of me and of my writing meant a lot to me.

But that’s not the only reason I love the idea of Petrona Remembered. It’s a fine place to look for that next great book you want to read. It’s also (and here’s where you come in) an excellent place to let everyone know about that great crime novel you just finished. You know the sort of thing I mean – the book or author that’s turned you into an evangelist. And the more you share those fabulous books with the rest of us, the better a resource Petrona Remembered becomes. To put it simply, it’s made all the richer for your contributions.

Bill Selnes at Mysteries and More From Saskatchewan had an excellent idea for keeping Petrona Remembered stocked with fine reviews. His thinking was that we in the crime fiction blogosphere could take turns adding reviews. Each month, a different blogger would send in a review, so that there’d be 12 new reviews each year. I think that’s a fantastic idea. If you do, too, all you need to do to be a part of it is to email me (margotkinberg(at)gmail(dot)com) and let me know which month you’d like to take. Then, I’ll post your review that month. It’s a perfect way to be a part of this rich resource even if you’re not quite ready to do it right now.

Don’t want to commit to a particular month? That’s fine, too.  All you need to do is email me (margotkinberg(at)gmail(dot)com) any review that you’d like posted on the blog. I’ll do the rest. You’ll learn about other great blogs and bloggers, and they’ll learn about you. Oh, and you’ll get to share your enthusiasm for that fantastic book you want everyone to read.

Questions? Just let me know and I’ll be happy to answer them. Rather not participate yourself? That’s perfectly fine. But I sure would appreciate your passing the word along to crime fiction book bloggers who might be interested. Let’s make Petrona Remembered a top online library of crime fiction reviews!

 
 
 

*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Chet Powers’ Get Together.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Everybody Get Together*

  1. I think that’s a great idea and would love to contribute. Does it have to be Scandi crime fiction, or any crime novel? (Available in English, I presume).

    • Oh, I’m so glad you would like to participate, Marina Sofia! Thank you. And no, your choice doesn’t have to be Scandi at all. It can be any excellent crime novel (you were right about available in English) that you’d like to share.

  2. I just want to echo what a great resource this is for crime fiction readers as this now has a wide range of books to peruse in what is a wonderful way to pay tribute to Maxine.

  3. I was just thinking recently that I hadn’t done a review for Petrona Remembered this year and was wondering if it had stopped, so I’m glad to hear it’s still going. I haven’t been reading quite so much new crime recently (because of my recent obsession with classic crime), but I’ll e-mail you next time I read a great one! 🙂

    • Oh, sounds great, FictionFan! Thank you 🙂 – I’m very glad to know that you’re interested in being a part of this. I’m really hoping that Petrona Remembered is going to continue to be a good resource for reviews. Just….let’s not tell my TBR, shall we? 😉

  4. Margot: I would be glad to do a post for July for Petrona Remembered.

  5. Margot, I was thinking of an old Buffalo Springfield song (I think?), “Come on people now, smile on your brother, let’s all get together and love one another right now.” At least that’s how I remember it from my wild and wooly days as a teen growing up in the ’60s!
    Another great post. Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    –Michael

  6. This is a great idea, Margot. I’ve signed up to get notifications of Petrona Remembered posts by email…and even though I don’t want to commit to a regular slot just yet, I may want to contribute a random review here and there for your consideration. Thanks!

  7. This was and is a wonderful idea, Margot. I will see if I can contribute later this year. I’d have to read and review a very good book to make the grade.

  8. I have never reviewed. I don’t have time at the moment, perhaps later in the year. Great idea as ever.

    • Thank you, Jane. And I can only imagine how busy you must be. If you do get the time to review later in the year, I’d love for you to contribute!

      • Busy people find time Margot, it is also being in the right place mentally to do some things. I have never reviewed, don’t feel qualified really. Frame of mind at the present time is cluttered and disorganised…I;d be a nightmare for any writer! 🙂

        • You have a point, Jane, about frame of mind. It’s a bit like reading, really. If you’re not in the right frame of mind to read something, you won’t enjoy it as much, even if it’s really high quality.

        • How true. I agree. Going back to read something once not enjoyed that much can often e a revelation. Works the other way too. 🙂 Another song title for a post In The Mood…:)

        • That’s quite true, Jane 🙂

  9. What a great resource for new reads–thank you for posting this! Off to check it out.

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

