In The Spotlight: Don Winslow’s The Dawn Patrol

Hello, All,

Welcome to another edition of In The Spotlight. Some crime novels are as much about a particular culture or sub-culture as they are about the crime. It’s tricky to pull that off without losing the main plot thread – the crime and its solution. But when it’s done well, such a novel can evoke an atmosphere and culture quite effectively. As an example, let’s turn today’s spotlight on Don Winslow’s The Dawn Patrol.

Boone Daniels is a former San Diego Police Department officer who’s become a PI. But his real passion is surfing. He lives in San Diego’s Pacific Beach, and spends as much of his time surfing as he can. He’s got a group of friends called the Dawn Patrol who join him. Daniels’ friends Hang Twelve (usually called ‘Hang’), High Tide, Johnny Banzai, Dave the Love God (he is a legend among women, both locals and tourists), and Sunny Day almost always surf together before they go to their various jobs. Then, when they can, they get together after work, too, and surf. In fact, Daniels would rather surf than actually make a living at a regular job.

Everything changes when attorney Petra Hall, from the law firm Burke, Spitz, and Culliver, approaches Daniels about taking a case on behalf of Coastal Insurance Company. They’re being sued by Daniel ‘Dan Silver’ Silvieri. It seems a warehouse he owns in Vista (something like 45 miles/72 km north and east of San Diego) burned. Coastal investigated and believes that it’s a case of arson, so they won’t pay. Dan Silver’s now suing them for damages and bad faith to the tune of US$5 million. Hall wants Daniels to find a stripper named Tamera Roddick who is a witness to the fire, and whose testimony will be important. Daniels doesn’t want to take the case, as a major set of waves is due in the area in the next few days, and he doesn’t want to miss his chance. But he’s finally convinced.

Then, a young woman dies of a fall from the balcony of a cheap motel room. At first, it’s assumed that she is the missing Tamera, because she has Tamera’s ID. But it soon turns out that the dead woman is actually Tamera’s best friend, another stripper who calls herself Angela Hart. But why was Tamera’s ID found with the dead woman? And which woman was the killer actually targeting?

As Daniels and Hall try to find the missing woman, they learn bits and pieces about her life in the past few months. And Daniels, in particular, wants to know who killed Angela Hart. He’s driven in part by a case from years earlier, when he was on the police force. A six-year-old girl disappeared from her front lawn, and was never found. He’s been trying to learn what happened to her since, since he blames himself for not solving the case. Little by little, he and Hall find out what happened to Tamera Roddick, how it’s linked up with Angela Hall’s murder, and what it all has to do with the warehouse fire. And before they’re done, they turn up some truly ugly secrets that some people are keeping.

This novel takes place in San Diego County, and Winslow places the reader there in many ways. Winslow provides background information on how the area developed, what it’s like geographically and demographically, and so on. Each reader is different about how much of that sort of information is ‘too much,’ so your mileage, as the term goes, may vary. But it’s more than just the history. The various small towns in the county, the roads that connect them, and so on, are all a part of the story.

San Diego has many different cultures and sub-cultures. Winslow concentrates on the surfing life, including the mix of cultural influences on it. Surfing takes athletic ability and lots of practice to surf, even to surf a little. And these people know the water, the weather patterns, and the beaches. One of them, Sunny Day, is so skilled at surfing that she has a real chance at national and international coverage, endorsements, and more. What’s more, they all have other jobs (cop, PI, lifeguard, restaurant server, etc.). Winslow evokes surfing and the surfing life as the story unfolds, even in details such as the language and surfing customs (and yes, there are surfing customs).

The members of the Dawn Patrol figure heavily in the novel. They don’t join Daniels’ investigation, but all of them have a part to play in the way the mystery unfolds. So, we get to know each. We learn their backstories, how they got into surfing, their plans, and so on. And we see how close-knit the group is. They are close friends as well as surfing partners.

But that friendship is tested and changed by the mysteries at hand. And the truth about Tamera Roddick’s disappearance, Angela Hart’s death, and the warehouse fire, is ugly. It’s even harrowing. Readers who prefer light mysteries will want to know that. There’s violence, too, some of it also ugly. But it’s not gratuitous or extended.

That said, though, there is wit in the story. Here, for instance, is Daniels’ reflection on the explosion of interest in Southern California after the Beach Boys became popular:
 

‘So many people moved to the SoCal coast, it’s surprising it didn’t just tilt into the ocean. Well, it sort of did; the developers threw up quick-and-dirty condo complexes on the bluffs above the ocean, and now they’re sliding into the sea like toboggans.’
 

Daniels mourns the loss of the days before the surge of popularity, when not many people knew about the great Southern California surfing beaches.  

It’s also worth pointing out that this isn’t one of those stories where every question is answered. Readers learn the answers to the main mysteries, but there are some ‘loose ends.’ Things aren’t wrapped up neatly at the end.

The Dawn Patrol is the story of a group of surfers whose lives are changed when one of them takes a case that turns out to be gut-wrenching. It’s set against a distinctive San Diego backdrop, and features a PI who’d rather surf than fight, but has a strong sense of what’s right. But what’s your view? Have you read The Dawn Patrol? If you have, what elements do you see in it?

 
 
 

Coming Up On In The Spotlight
 

Monday, 18 September/Tuesday, 19 September – Another Margaret – Janice McDonald

Monday, 25 September/Tuesday, 26 September – Among Thieves – John Clarkson

Monday, 2 October/Tuesday,3 October – Crocodile on the Sandbank – Elizabeth Peters

22 Comments

Filed under Don Winslow, The Dawn Patrol

22 responses to “In The Spotlight: Don Winslow’s The Dawn Patrol

  1. Dave the Love God, eh? Now there’s a nickname to be proud of! 😉 Surfing culture always seems so exotic to me since the Scottish weather doesn’t really allow for it – though I believe there are some hardy souls who brave the freezing waters anyway. If my TBR hadn’t hit the stratosphere I’d be tempted to try this one, but I must be strong… I must be strong… I must…

    • Oh, I know the feeling of having to be strong, FictionFan! I really do have to be careful about that, myself. I think it’s even harder in these days of the ereader, when all of those TBR books are so neatly packed away in a small Kindle or Nook or whatever…. *sigh*

      And, yes, Dave the Love God’s earned his nickname, shall we say. His partners actually recommend that their friends look him up if they’re in San Diego! I will point out, for those readers to whom this matters, that Winslow does not go into explicit detail about how Dave keeps that nickname. I think it’s also only fair to say that Dave is, in his way, quite respectful of his partners. Everyone’s upfront, and knows it’s only for fun – no strings, no expectations, no lies. And he’s not after his partners’ money, etc. He’s an interesting character.

      And the surf culture is definitely its own universe. Lots of people find it fascinating – even exotic. I often wish I knew it better, myself.

  2. Margot, I wonder why authors often write characters with similar names — PI Boone Daniels and the warehouse owner Daniel ‘Dan Silver’ Silvieri. I’m assuming it is to make the story or narrative look natural, but it doesn’t convince me. In fact, it sort of puts me off. I’d like all the characters in the novels I read to be named differently. I really like San Diego as a setting here. I had family living there until the turn of the century and they told me it was one of the best cities in the world. I know you live there too.

    • You ask an interesting question, Prashant, about names. As a reader, I agree that it’s easier if names vary enough so that you can really keep characters straight, and remember them. As a writer, I have to admit that choosing names can be a challenge. I’m glad your family enjoyed living in San Diego. I live about 60k from there, but I’ve been to San Diego many times, and there’s a lot to like about it – including the beach, the weather, and the food.

  3. Col

    I have this one on the pile for a read one day. I think I’ve stock-piled his last 6 or 7 books and haven’t read one of them. I ought to rectify that, assuming I don’t get side-tracked. I enjoyed Kem Nunn’s surfer novel Tapping the Source some years ago. I do like this counter-culture

    • It’s an interesting group, isn’t it, Col? I’m not a surfer, myself, but I’ve met several of them, and they’re very interesting people. I do hope you get to some of Winslow’s work; I think you’d enjoy it. And I ought to check out the Nunn…

  4. Reblogged this on Author Don Massenzio and commented:
    The spotlight is on The Dawn Patrol, by Don Winslow, as featured in this post on the Confessions of a Mystery Novelist blog

  5. Sounds interesting, Margot. The surfers’ names don’t appeal to me at all, but overall probably a good story.

    • The interesting thing is, Tracy, that each of them has a more ‘regular’ name, but they go by those nicknames. It’s an unusual custom, but it’s part of that group’s culture. If you do read this one, I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  6. More for the TBR pile – gosh I hope I live long enough. Love San Diego so I am sure I’d enjoy reading The Dawn Patrol. Thanks.

  7. I’ve read several Don Winslow novels. They get longer (and more intense). Excellent review!

  8. This was the last Winslow I read, and after this they get tougher, more about the mob and the violence is ramped up. I decided to stop with this one, which I liked very much indeed.

    • They do get more intense, don’t they, Richard? But I do have to admit I like the Boone Daniels character. And this one – The Dawn Patrol doesn’t have the Mob focus that others, do. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  9. Pingback: Saturday Miscellany – 9/16/17 | The Irresponsible Reader

  10. neeru

    Margot, I agree with Tracy and Prashant (whose comment made me laugh). I don’t like the nick-names – they seem like too much in the face – and I also prefer books where the names are not similar otherwise I tend to confuse the characters with one another. Sometimes I wish that Cast of Characters index would make a comeback. (Signs of aging, I guess:)

    • I know what you mean, Neeru. When there are a large number of characters, I sometimes have trouble keeping them apart, especially if they have similar names. I’ve read several novels where there is a cast of characters; those lists can be very handy!

What's your view? I'd love to hear it.

